p.h.d.elicious cooks plants in tiny kitchens

Plant-based Cooking!

Forgotten Galette

with one comment

Photobucket

Oh dear, the pictures in this entry are admittedly from last month (hence the peaches). As a result, I don’t remember the details of this delicious galette! I’ve redone what I did at the time, tried to cobble together some recipes from epicurious, but I just don’t remember for sure. Academia-addled brain. I thawed a square of vegan puff pastry, rolled it out to a larger square, rolled out some marzipan really thin, a bit smaller than the pastry, and placed it on the pastry. Arranged peaches (blanched, cooled, peeled, sliced) on top. Now I really can’t remember if I mixed the peaches with any lemon juice, or if I sprinkled a bit of sugar on top. But it’s possible I did. Mind like a sieve. Baked probably at 425? Who knows anymore. All I know is, it was delicious. My mom was visiting, so I wanted to make a dessert with all her favourite dessert-y things combined: puff pastry, marzipan, peaches. And she loved it! The rest of the dinner is below: the Vegetable Lasagna variation of Lasagna al Forno Bolognese from Nonna’s Italian Kitchen (using “Prostitute’s Stew” instead of the fake bolognese) and the caesar salad from Veganomicon (but with storebought croutons). The lasagna was both rich and subtle–Bryanna’s right, it’s not the lasagna we’ve come to expect in North America. Fittingly, it wasn’t quite what I expected– I guess I expected it to be somewhat bolder-flavoured. But I liked it.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Written by phdelicious

October 9, 2010 at 4:55 pm

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I was lucky enough to try this. Soooo delicious!
    Looking at your thanksgiving dinner. . .I wish I could have tasted it. Looks fantastic!

    Karen

    October 17, 2010 at 12:17 am


Leave a Reply

