p.h.d.elicious cooks plants in tiny kitchens

Plant-based Cooking!

Seitanic Jambalaya!

leave a comment »

Photobucket

I’ve been wanting to make the jambalaya from Veganomicon for awhile now, and I was happy with it once I finally did. It made about a ton, as promised, and I had to freeze a bunch of it. Now, reheating frozen rice dishes is a tricky business: you can easily take the turn into Mushy Town. Which I did, the first time I tried with this. So, feeding my dear boyfriend late one night, I put more planning and thought into it and my efforts were rewarded (I served it with a mess of maple-walnut collards–thought up a dish by myself, and of course, didn’t take a picture nor post it.) Thoroughly thaw the jambalaya in its single-serving tupperware that you froze it in, then heat a bit of olive oil in a non-stick pan (non-stick is, I think, kind of required here) and dump in the jambalaya, spreading it out to maximize surface area. Let it fry and sizzle for a couple of minutes, and then start gently flipping it over in sections to brown other spots. Come to think of it, it’s a bit like cooking matzoh brie. Keep doing this until any water has evaporated and you have your desired level of moistness/brown-ness. The bonus of this method is that you get a few crusty little brown bits, which taste smoky and delicious in this dish. Now you can freeze jambalaya to your heart’s content!

Written by phdelicious

October 11, 2010 at 4:09 am

Posted in Meals

Tagged with , , ,

Leave a Reply

