p.h.d.elicious cooks plants in tiny kitchens

Plant-based Cooking!

Mex-I-Can: Those Proverbial Restaurant Pics

with 2 comments

Photobucket

Now, here are the vegetarian tostadas (sauteed cactus and other veggies), done vegan-style by request. At most restaurants, you ask for a dish done vegan and you just get things removed, not replaced. Here, they’ve come up with delicious vegan sauce to replace the sour cream, and they’ve recently begun sprinkling soy cheese, too. Last time I went, they were charging an extra dollar for the sauce and cheese. I really don’t mind paying that–you’re getting lots of absolutely delicious food for a good price anyways. But for the record I said I’d still pay the extra dollar but I only wanted the sauce, not the cheese. I’m just not the biggest fan of soy cheese so I prefer it without it. It’s too bad I don’t have a picture of the sopes– they’re even better than the tostadas but only because sopes are the best way to eat corn I’ve ever come across.
Bottom line: go to Mex-I-Can if you’re in Hamilton Ontario. Fantastic Mexican food and thoughtful/delicious vegan options. Be careful if you’re in a huge rush, though– they cook everything to order as far as I can tell, and sometimes they get too slammed to serve you quickly.

Written by phdelicious

October 17, 2010 at 4:02 pm

Posted in Meals

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. mex-i-can!!
    great food and they are so knowledgable wrt glute-free and vegan.

    Geetha

    February 3, 2011 at 3:30 am

    • Yes, it’s such a relief when restaurants know what “vegan” means! And the food is great.

      phdelicious

      February 5, 2011 at 4:18 pm


Leave a Reply

