p.h.d.elicious cooks plants in tiny kitchens

Plant-based Cooking!

Doctoring Tempeh to Within an Inch of its Life

with 5 comments

Photobucket

Vegan MoFo Day 3: Tempeh Times
Even though I’ve been a vegan for nigh on five years (does that make me the proverbial Level 5 Vegan?), I still prefer my tempeh pretty heavily tampered with. But once it is, I’m crazy about it. I’m a fickle lover of fermented soy, I suppose.
Anyways, here’s how I doctored it this time: cut into triangles, poach in veggie broth for 10 minutes, remove from broth and cool slightly on a cutting board. Heat up a fair amount of oil (I used peanut, I think) in a cast iron pan, carefully slice the triangles through the middle to make thinner triangles (more surface area for doctoring!) and fry, flipping part way through, until golden brown on both sides. Arrange slices on a pan, brush with barbeque sauce and broil for a few minutes until sticky and saucy. If you like, flip over and do the same on the other side. Fried, flavoured and poached to within an inch of its fermented little life!

Written by phdelicious

November 3, 2010 at 6:41 pm

Posted in Meals

Tagged with ,

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. This looks SO AMAZINGLY GOOD. My favorite way to eat tempeh is marinated in soy sauce and sesame oil, then baked and rolled up in a fresh spring roll, but I’m definitely going to try the poach ‘n’ fry method now.

    Viva MoFo!

    Stephanie

    November 3, 2010 at 8:01 pm

    • Oooh, that spring roll idea sounds delicious!

      phdelicious

      November 3, 2010 at 8:58 pm

  2. Poach and fry is indeed a super way to enjoy tempeh. I have a hard time keeping mine in such pretty solid pieces like yours though!

    Kip

    November 3, 2010 at 9:24 pm

  3. That sounds delicious! I, too, like my tempeh to be seriously sauced. The one exception is the sea veggy kind. I love it as is.

    Mo

    November 3, 2010 at 9:54 pm

  4. […] Pupcake: Fried Rice (and adorable comic!) » p.h.d.elicious: poached and fried BBQ tempeh » Vegan Eats and Treats: Latin Tofu and Ecuadorian Llapingachos » Tofu ‘n’ Sprouts: […]


Leave a Reply

