p.h.d.elicious cooks plants in tiny kitchens

Plant-based Cooking!

A Run On Soup

with 3 comments

Photobucket

When I get a new cookbook I tend to go nuts with it for awhile. The latest one has been Love Soup by Anna Thomas. It’s technically a “vegetarian” book, but the vast majority of the soups are either vegan or readily veganizable. I’ve made one stock and five soups from it, plus a salad and a fig-olive tapenade. Overall, the theme of this book, I’d say, is subtlety. All the soups I’ve made focus on the flavour of the starring vegetables, and the soups aren’t doctored up much or incredibly punchy. While I love punchy, these soups are a great, meditative way to get back in touch with the subtle flavours of vegetables. They’re all about the gentle layering of flavours– caramelized onions, a toasted spice here and there, different herbs added at different times. And I’m always a little too lazy to make my own stock, and haven’t had the best luck with homemade stocks (except for one I made a couple of years ago with corn cobs: yum)! But this one was delicious, thanks to tons of different veggies. As you can see above, it completely filled my stock pot! As it simmered, it settled down into the pot a little.
Below: Green Soup. So delicious, so green.

Photobucket

Below:Fasolia Gigante Soup with Spinach, and Fig Olive Tapenade. The tapenade is very delicious– even my olive-averse boyfriend loved it. And I used large lima beans for the gigantes (just like I did in the Veganomicon Greek Dinner).

Photobucket

Below: Lentil and Spinach Salad. Very tasty, with caramelized leeks. A lot of leeks, though, so make sure you like an oniony flavour.

Photobucket

Below: Green Lentil Soup with Cumin and Lemon. You can really taste the lemon and cumin in this one, and it’s really good.

Photobucket

Below: Black Bean and Squash Soup. This could be my favourite one in the bunch. Instead of jalapenos, I used a bit of heirloom habanero, which has earned its own future Vegan MoFo entry.

Photobucket

I’ve also made the big-batch Pickle Soup, which is a Polish-inspired vegetable-barley soup with, yes, some minced pickle added. I can’t find a picture of it, and right now it only exists in frozen form, in my freezer! It’s tasty, but frankly it’s a little too subtle for me to be altogether excited about it making such a big batch. That’s my nasty review. But overall, I really love this book. As you can see, it makes you want to make soup, over and over!

Written by phdelicious

November 5, 2010 at 4:47 pm

Posted in Meals

Tagged with , ,

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. So. much. greatness.

    Mo

    November 6, 2010 at 5:11 pm

    • Thanks, Mo!!!

      phdelicious

      November 8, 2010 at 1:51 am

  2. I love that first picture – such great color! The fig olive tapenade looks delicious, too!

    Vegannifer

    November 8, 2010 at 8:44 pm


Leave a Reply

