p.h.d.elicious cooks plants in tiny kitchens

Plant-based Cooking!

Tiramisu Cake

with 7 comments

Photobucket

Ah, here’s what I was doing yesterday instead of updating! Four vanilla cake layers, soaked in rum/coffee syrup, filled and iced with an extremely temperamental whipped coconut/cashew cream, and trimmed with coffee buttercream, vegan chocolate covered coffee beans, and chocolate ganache. It was a cake to cover two birthdays– mine, last week, and Jesse’s, this week.

Photobucket

Above, we have a picture of my method of syrup delivery. I didn’t want to go overboard, and the little elephant spout did the trick. However, I found upon cutting the cake that I had very little to worry about and the syrup hadn’t penetrated very far or very destructively. I wished I’d gone a little heavier on the syrup, but then you never know how that would have affected the cake’s integrity. The syrup was made of strong coffee, some dark rum, some agave and some icing sugar. My apologies for not having better measurements– I tend to wing cake accoutrements and I do it in a bit of a non-recorded fly-by-the-seat-of-my-pants frenzy.

Photobucket

Alright, here we have a better idea of the coconut/cashew whipped cream. On the top and sides it’s very smoothed out/patted down with my offset spatula, so you don’t get a sense of the consistency. I fought with this stuff for a whole evening and the following morning to make sure it didn’t separate too much. Started with soaked cashews blended with the chilled top contents of two cans of full-fat coconut milk, a bit of rum extract, some icing sugar, some “Whip-It” whipping cream stabilizer powder, then doctored it with some Earth Balance shortening, some margarine, some more raw cashews that I didn’t bother soaking (a move I kind of regretted) and I think that’s all, though I wrestled with it in all sorts of ways I may not fully remember. The final result, though, while a little bit ricotta-like (luckily I can claim that was on purpose) was delicious, quite reminiscent of whipped cream, and had the perfect amount of sweetness (ie., not too much). The volatility of the filling meant that the cake pretty much had to stay refrigerated, but that would have been true of a whipped cream cake, too.

Photobucket

Side view! Happy Vegan MoFo Day 7!

Written by phdelicious

November 8, 2010 at 3:11 am

Posted in Baking

Tagged with

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. How gorgeous! Happy birthday and happy cake eating to both of you!

    coldandsleepy

    November 8, 2010 at 3:59 am

  2. that looks totally fabulous. yum. the filling/frosting, temperamental as it may have been, really sounds delicious!

    sophia

    November 8, 2010 at 4:08 am

    • Thanks! It was very tasty, after all!

      phdelicious

      November 9, 2010 at 2:30 am

  3. Very, very nice cake! The elephant spout was a great idea; I have the same type of syrup pourer, but in cat form.

    Vegannifer

    November 8, 2010 at 8:34 pm

    • Thanks! Three cheers for animal-shaped pottery!

      phdelicious

      November 9, 2010 at 2:31 am

  4. Happy Belated Birthday! That cake looks and sounds amazing!

    Mo

    November 9, 2010 at 5:48 pm


Leave a Reply

