p.h.d.elicious cooks plants in tiny kitchens

Plant-based Cooking!

Chorizo Chard Sopes

with 2 comments

Photobucket

This is why I had seitan chorizo kicking around my fridge for that reuben I posted the other day! Sopes, from Viva Vegan!. I fell in love with sopes at Mex-I-Can restaurant, and was eager to try making them at home. And the process is pretty easy! The dough is a very easy masa dough; it’s just the shaping of the shells that takes a little practice. I think we did alright, though!

Photobucket

Above are the shells, pre-cooking. The bottoms are toasted in a cast iron skillet, then the shells are brushed in oil and baked. For filling, I used sauteed chorizo from the book, sauteed chard (this made the sopes extremely messy to eat), cabbage, thinned cashew crema from the book, and bottled tomatillo salsa. Below, another shot, from the evening we actually made and ate them. The picture above is pretty and well-lit, but leftover sopes just don’t taste as good the next day! The baked shells get a little tough after spending the night in the fridge. Also below, corn torillas from the book, made with the same dough as the sopes. This was my first time making tortillas and they worked quite well! They were also a far less messy way to eat clumps of cooked chard. I think the next time I make sopes I’ll make sure all the fillings are chopped very finely.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Written by phdelicious

November 16, 2010 at 4:20 am

Posted in Meals

Tagged with ,

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I still haven’t tried these, but they look delicious!

    Mo

    November 16, 2010 at 5:58 am

  2. My mouth watered when I saw this picture, it sounds like the perfect meal!

    lazysmurf

    November 16, 2010 at 5:11 pm


Leave a Reply

