p.h.d.elicious cooks plants in tiny kitchens

Plant-based Cooking!

Gingerbread House

with 7 comments

Photobucket

This is the last of my Christmas-related posts til next year! I had great fun making this house– I haven’t made a gingerbread house for probably fifteen years. And of course, this one was vegan! I visited Whole Foods while I was in Vancouver and got all sorts of vegan fancy versions of candy, and carried it home to Hamilton in my carry-on baggage.

Back view:

Photobucket

Written by phdelicious

December 29, 2010 at 2:31 am

Posted in Baking

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. wow, looks great and artistic for me

    kawaii-erasers

    December 29, 2010 at 3:08 am

  2. Fantastically creative! Did you actually bake the house? I love your creative use of toppings, especially knowing you hunted for all vegan stuff is pretty cool.

    mybakingempire

    December 29, 2010 at 3:38 am

    • Thanks!! Yes, I did bake the house– I just googled an easy recipe. …And now, upon re-googling, I can’t find the one I used! It was one that already didn’t call for an egg, so it was vegan-handy. I made up a simple pattern on paper and used it as a template. The edges spread a bit, but lots of icing will make anything work!

      phdelicious

      December 29, 2010 at 4:08 pm

  3. hi there,
    So, I’m under the gun writing my phd thesis and I purchased a bag of pre-cut cactus yesterday. So I’m searching the web looking for vegan cactus recipes, avoiding writing the next section of my results, and I came upon your site. Love your recipes! Then i find out the pic of the cactus dish is from mex-i-can. and i am from hamilton, ON! so funny!! Funny all the similarities 🙂

    13thfloorsamosa

    February 3, 2011 at 2:13 am

    • Wow, we are doppelgangers!!

      phdelicious

      February 5, 2011 at 4:17 pm

  4. That house is so cute!

    Mo

    February 22, 2011 at 7:21 pm


Leave a Reply

