p.h.d.elicious cooks plants in tiny kitchens

Plant-based Cooking!

Sage, Rosemary, and Thyme

with 2 comments

Photobucket

Right after the big Christmas meal I had a bunch of fresh herbs left over– those little plastic packages of herbs from the supermarket really hold too much, especially when you’re talking sage, rosemary, and thyme. Herbs that need a sparing hand, in other words. I made a total comfort meal, which was more beige than I would have hoped, but that’s partly because these brussels sprouts were bordering on being too anemic (old, yellow, etc.) to eat. I fell in love with grits when I made them for Christmas dinner, so I made them again, minus the sauteed garlic and plus some fresh thyme (and some leftover cashew cream from Christmas dinner’s grits, which made these extra comfort-foody.) To use up some rosemary I added some to the brussels sprouts, which I cooked according to the recipe for shaved brussels sprouts from Appetite for Reduction. Finally, the white beans, which I’ve heard classically go with sage. First I sauteed a bunch of garlic, then added leftover white beans (again, from Christmas cooking) and some veggie broth and chopped sage. Simmered it down a bit into a half puree/ half ragout, and it was delicious. The whole thing was delicious, and screamed Winter Dinner! I still didn’t use up all those herbs, but at least I made a deeper dent.

Written by phdelicious

January 3, 2011 at 3:01 am

Posted in Meals

Tagged with ,

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Maybe you could grind up the leftover fresh herbs in a blender or food processor or mortar & pestle and freeze tablespoon-sized portions in a greased ice cube tray, and then pop them out when you’re ready to use them, or pop them out and put each herb type in a separate freezer bag. I never remember to do this, but you are so right that those fresh herbs come in gigantic bunches; mine always turn black before I remember to use them all. Your post is making me so hungry!

    Jacqueline

    January 3, 2011 at 2:50 pm

  2. That plate of food looks so delicious to me!

    Mo

    February 22, 2011 at 7:22 pm


Leave a Reply

