p.h.d.elicious cooks plants in tiny kitchens

Plant-based Cooking!

My Appetite for Appetite for Reduction

with 3 comments

Photobucket

Okay, I’ve been pretty buried under dissertation work, so I stopped both working out and updating the blog. Yet today, chapter draft still not done, I decided to both work out and update my blog, otherwise I’d be letting the dissertation win! (Yes, against all, and I mean all odds, I’ve become one of those people who starts to feel off when I haven’t worked out in awhile. To my own chagrin.) Anyways, I didn’t stop cooking. In fact, I’ve been obsessed with Appetite for Reduction, and have been cooking nonstop from it. Truth be told, my weight has been creeping up and up over the past couple of years, and now I can’t fit into half my pairs of pants. So, since I always get totally obsessed with new cookbooks, especially those by Isa and/or Terry, I was pretty relieved this one is devoted to lower-calorie offerings–and not, say, cupcakes. And I like Isa’s approach here, which is the one I tend to take on my own when I’m looking to eat healthier: a nice balance between proteins and carbs and some fat, lots of filling vegetables and beans. Typical of Isa’s books, the food is all scrumptious, too, and doesn’t taste low-fat or skimpy. So many of my updates for the next while will likely involve this book!

Above: the nicoise salad, which I had with her balsamic vinaigrette recipe instead of the green goddess recipe. I happily ate this for days.

Below: Pineapple Collards, Blackened Tofu, and Gingery Mashed Sweet Potatoes and Apples, all from the book.

Photobucket

Below: Hottie Black-eyed Peas and Greens

Photobucket

Below: Buffalo Tempeh (pretty much a lower-fat, streamlined version of my beloved Hot Sauce Glazed Tempeh from Veganomicon) and Caesar Chavez Dressing on Romaine.

Photobucket

Written by phdelicious

January 27, 2011 at 4:13 am

Posted in Meals

Tagged with , , ,

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. It all looks great. I too am currently obsessed with this book and have made so much good stuff from it.

    Susan

    January 28, 2011 at 1:01 am

    • oooh, I see from your blog you’ve made some things from the book that I haven’t made yet! Looks delicious!

      phdelicious

      February 12, 2011 at 4:23 pm

  2. The Goddess Nicoise is probably my favorite salad of all time. All of this food looks great!

    Mo

    February 22, 2011 at 7:23 pm


Leave a Reply

