p.h.d.elicious cooks plants in tiny kitchens

Plant-based Cooking!

Pear Walnut Chard “Blue Cheese” Pizza

with 2 comments

Photobucket

Okay, this one’s definitely not from Appetite for Reduction, and it’s from the 2010 archives (oh, picture backup!) I made my pizza crust from Nonna’s Italian Kitchen, and a batch of Creamy Bleu Cheez dressing from The Ultimate Uncheese Cookbook. The dressing is downright delicious, but let’s just say its base is equal parts tahini and olive oil, so it comes by its delciousness honestly and with no skimping on calories. I didn’t add the full amount of water because I wanted more of a sauce than a dressing–next time, because of this, I’d lower the amount of white wine vinegar a bit, too, to compensate for the relative lack of dilution. Anyways, I always loved a pear, pinenut, and cambozola pizza that I used to make for dinner with my mom, so this is a takeoff on that. I had a whole bunch of finely diced ruby chard stems left over from something else, so I sauteed those up. These added a great vegetal note of clean earthiness, which I think really balanced the generally-uber-rich pizza nicely. I toasted some walnuts, and sliced a bosc pear (oooh, boscs are the best!) If I’m not mistaken, I think I caramelized some onions, too. I think the picture below was the next day’s version (yes, I made this pizza twice in a row–the crust makes two pizzas–and ate the whole works myself), which didn’t have any pear, but it was just as tasty; except that in the second version I think I kind of overdid the bleu cheez dressing. More isn’t always better! Bottom line, this was super delicious, and it better have been, for it was about eight million calories.

Photobucket

Written by phdelicious

February 12, 2011 at 4:20 pm

Posted in Meals

Tagged with ,

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. This looks insane! I’ll take one 3 for delivery next next Wednesday.

    drew

    February 13, 2011 at 2:51 am

  2. That pizza looks amazing! My mouth is watering right now!

    Mo

    February 22, 2011 at 7:23 pm


Leave a Reply

