p.h.d.elicious cooks plants in tiny kitchens

Plant-based Cooking!

Valentine’s Greek Feast

with 5 comments

Photobucket

Nothing says romance like fifteen cloves of garlic and gallons of olive oil! Spanakopita from Vegan With a Vengeance, Lemony Roasted Potatoes, Cashew Cucumber Dip, and Saffron Garlic Rice from Veganomicon, and salad. The potatoes are insanely good, and Mack and I couldn’t stop picking at the leftovers all night, as we watched the most random assortment of TV shows imaginable: part of an American Experience documentary on Ronald Reagan (made in 1998, so happily pre-bizarre-bipartisan-beatification), Jersey Shore, the works. I didn’t take a picture of the Chocolate Rum Pudding Cake from Vegan With a Vengeance, but it was delicious, too. I thought it would be nice to splurge, calorie-wise, and to make all dishes I had already made before.
A word on the Pudding Cake: I made this years ago with an ancient springform pan, and it was problem-free and fantastic. Then that old pan finally bit the dust–its finish got degraded beyond repair and I had to throw it out. I tried the cake again about a year ago with a new pan, and the rum/boiling water layer spilled all over and was a nightmare. So I got a new pan for this try: a pretty little Wilton number. Alas, the same thing happened and about five minutes into baking I had to dump the whole mess into a pie plate and continue baking it that way. Since it’s pudding cake, it’s pretty forgiving, luckily. But what stress! Rum was dripping all over my oven and the floor, and I was swearing up and down. All’s well that ends well, I suppose.

Written by phdelicious

February 17, 2011 at 4:16 pm

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. any way you could post the potato recipe? thanks!

    geetha

    February 17, 2011 at 8:14 pm

  2. I had the same problem with that recipe, so now I make it in a pie plate. Thankfully it is always delicious, no matter what.

    Susan

    February 18, 2011 at 5:26 am

  3. Holy Sh*t! Look at that!

    drew

    February 18, 2011 at 8:12 pm

  4. That looks fantastic!

    Mo

    February 22, 2011 at 7:31 pm


Leave a Reply

