p.h.d.elicious cooks plants in tiny kitchens

Plant-based Cooking!

Two-Rounds Scarlet Barley Dinners

with one comment

Photobucket

I can’t decide if the aesthetics of these dinners are blog-worthy, but I’m going to charge ahead. I eat dinner sometime between six and eight. My sweetheart works until eleven, so he eats dinner at 11:30. When he comes over after work, then, I get to invent a second version of what I did earlier in the day. (I must interject that I’m fully aware of the sunshiny domestic tone of this post: every time I express my enthusiasm for cooking for my boyfriend, I’m reminded of a scene from the TV show Roseanne. Jackie: “This is so great, you know, cooking for my man.” Roseanne: “Yeah, and if you play your cards right, you get to do it every single day until one of you DIES!”)
Anyhoo, I made the above for myself: scarlet barley from Appetite for Reduction, and warmed up leftover Hottie Blackeyed Peas and Greens. Like polenta or risotto, barley really firms up in the hours following cooking, so I decided to make pan-fried croquettes for round two, served with warmed-up Jamaican curry from Veganomicon out of the freezer.

Photobucket

Written by phdelicious

February 19, 2011 at 7:41 pm

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I love scarlet barley so much! Yours looks beautiful!

    Mo

    February 22, 2011 at 7:32 pm


Leave a Reply

