p.h.d.elicious cooks plants in tiny kitchens

Plant-based Cooking!

Fried “Egg” Sandwich

with 5 comments

Photobucket

Now, I never went for a fried egg sandwich in the old days, but this really tastes good, and I’ve made it every once in awhile since the early vegan days, when my only vegan book was The Garden of Vegan. (Wow, imagine! No Isa/Romero yet!) So simple, yet so tasty: you just mix a tablespoon of nutritional yeast with 1/8 t. each of salt and pepper, dredge two slices of tofu in the mix, and fry in a bit of oil. It does taste kind of eggy, but in a good way. It mostly just tastes savory and good-for-a-sandwich-like.

Written by phdelicious

November 17, 2010 at 9:17 pm

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I have enjoyed this recipe several times as well.
    So much better than an actual egg sandwich. đŸ˜‰

    Susan

    November 17, 2010 at 11:58 pm

  2. […] love to take a bite of the simple, but tasty sounding tofu egg sandwich on the p.h.d.elicious cooks plants in tiny kitchens blog. I also really want to be invited over the next time Midwest Veg makes this banana bread french […]

  3. This looks absolutely delicious! Nice picture!

    Aimee Hughes

    November 18, 2010 at 1:34 am

  4. wow, this is really similar to my lazy tofu sammich, ‘cept i use a bit of flour and finish it off with soy sauce/tamari. i love it!

    meansoybean

    November 20, 2010 at 3:25 am

  5. I miss egg sandwiches, I will have to give this a try. I think it is mostly the texture that I miss, and this sounds like it might come close.

    gilding lilies

    November 29, 2010 at 8:42 pm


Leave a comment